There’s a Bad Moon on the Rise

I believe I’ve heard it said that great minds think alike. Perhaps.

There are plenty of aphorisms concerning the moon. So if two or more bloggers write up something about a full moon – are they kindred spirits?  Are they great minds?  Well, let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

This most recent full moon was something to behold. It was nearer the earth than usual, and thus also known as a supermoon.  Good stuff.

Brian Miller at the South Roane Agrarian posted a shot of the Hunters Moon.  A nice photo.  And while I was out Sunday morning walking the dog before dawn I got a glimpse of the big fat orb myself.  We had a bit more cloud cover, giving me the picture you see here.

October 16, '16 full moon in Central Ohio.

October 16, ’16 full moon in Central Ohio.

Having been scooped by Brian I was going to let it lie, but then my image started to speak to me. It seemed to be looking at me.  A quick edit with some paint software and you get the image below.  Just in time for Halloween.

Twin moons, ghosts and goblins - oh my!

  Twin moons, ghosts and goblins – oh my!

In other news, you may have heard Bob Dylan has been selected to receive the Nobel Prize in Literature. And has Bob weighed in on this full moon stuff?  Why yes.  From the album Shadows in the Night his song: Full Moon and Empty Arms:

Full moon and empty arms
The moon is there for us to share
But where are you

A night like this
Could weave a memory
And every kiss
Could start a dream for two

Full moon and empty arms
Tonight I’ll use the magic moon to wish upon
And next full moon
If my one wish comes true
My empty arms will be filled with you

Full moon and empty arms
Tonight I’ll use the magic moon to wish upon
And next full moon
If my one wish comes true
My empty arms will be filled with you

And if recent news is accurate, the Nobel committee might be singing just this song… hoping that Bob will get back to them and let them know if he intends to show up and accept the award.

Perhaps John Fogerty had it right:

Don’t go around tonight,
Well it’s bound to take your life,
There’s a bad moon on the rise

 

2 comments

  1. We had a chance to get outside and snap a pic of the November 2016 Supermoon through our 11″ Celestron telescope. Check it out here: http://www.o3p.com/threads/photos-of-the-november-13-2016-supermoon.779/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great pic O3P… thanks for stopping by.

    Like

Leave a comment