Political winds

The attack upon the health care legislation of the previous U.S. administration has been yanked. Its likely failure cited as the cause.  Politics.

I’m not a politician in the professional sense. I do vote.  I do have opinions, and have been guilty of sharing some from time to time.  But in the arena of finger pointing and posturing for public opinion I’m greatly underqualified.  So, I should not write anything at length that portends my opinions on national politics in the U.S. are worth much.

For instance, I should not take notice of the current class of Republican politicians whose ability to do something they’ve sworn to do for many years now has just come up short. Perhaps their failure and the resulting public ridicule will galvanize their membership.

And further, I should not draw attention to some of the severely gerrymandered districts in some of these United States. Many of these same districts have become home to very extreme members of either of the two major political parties, given that election of one party in such a district is nearly a given and so the winner of a primary election is where the contest lies.  Of late then the primary candidate who is more acceptable to the partisans of the majority in the district will more often prevail.  Thus, for a Republican to run to the right of an incumbent Republican is a strategy like that of a liberal Democrat running to the left of an incumbent Democrat.  This, in my unneeded opinion, might be why ugliness ensues.

Nor should I draw a conclusion from these observations. I’m just an ordinary citizen after all.  I should likely keep it to myself that perhaps the time has come for someone – a Republican say – should run in a primary to the center (or left) of the incumbent Republican who has gotten so far from the center as to have made a mockery of the system.  Or by the same token, would it be too much to dream that a more centrist Democratic candidate could run to the right of an incumbent far left Democrat?  What if such candidates found themselves in Washington D.C.  – across the aisle from each other; engaged in a partisan debate, but being only concerned about the countries’ best interests rather than the need to raise money for the next battle to remain far enough toward the pole their gerrymandered district demands??  What if?  Could the political winds possibly blow in that direction again?

I shouldn’t say such things. I’m just a voter.  A tax payer.  A privileged old white man.  What possible consequence could my opinion have?  So I won’t say such things.  I’ll just write about science, farming, food, and living a measured life.  I know about these things.  If you’re looking for a tasty tomato, vote for me.

Ahh, now that’s what I’m talking about

3 comments

  1. I vote tomatoes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely. And come to think of it, tomatoes work very planted up against the south side of a house or other Northern Hemisphere building (particularly if said building is not shaded by trees). But you knew that!

      Anything new cooking at a Small Delicious Life?

      Like

    2. Forgot to ask yesterday – but having taken a peak at the way Canada has set up your “ridings” it looks to me much less gerrymandered. Would you agree? Do the ridings ever get redrawn?

      Like

Leave a Reply

